First known as “Spadina Heights”, the famed Forest Hill as we know it today was first incorporated as a village in 1923. Today’s boundaries of the neighbourhood are outlined by the old Spadina Heights school district. Split by Eglinton Avenue, North & South or Upper & Lower Forest Hill were developed much differently. South Forest Hill is currently the one of the most sought-after areas in all of Toronto amongst the cities wealthy buyers. It was completely developed by the 1930’s while Upper Forest Hill took longer to develop and was mostly occupied by the old Belt Line Railway. In 1967, Forest Hill Village was one of the last independent villages to be annexed by the City of Toronto.
The homes of Forest Hill at present day consist of a mixture of architecturally significant modern homes as well as the traditional stone and brick mansions that birthed this extraordinary community. Some of Toronto’s most renowned architects have build stunning new homes with a nod to the history of the area by including red brick, limestone and other facades to maintain the original character of the landscape of which the homes are a part of.
Upper Canada College for boys and Bishop Strachan School for girls are two of Canada’s most distinguished private schools, both of which or in close proximity to Forest Hill. In addition to schools, present day Forest Hill Village at Spadina Road & Lonsdale Road hosts local favourites such as What a Bagel!, Starbucks, Aroma Espresso Bar, Greenhouse Juice Co., Sofra and many more.